Beginning January 1, 2013

Stop by the new site and take a look around.

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Drasmyr by Matthew D. Ryan



Drasmyr by Matthew D. Ryan
Publisher: Self
Genre: Dark Fantasy
Length: Full (200 pgs)
Age recommendation: 14+
Rated: 5 stars
Review by Poppy



We vampires do not make easy prey. Our weaknesses are few, our strengths many. Fear is something we do not know, and death but a distant memory. So tread softly, pray to your god, and gird yourself with silver when the moons arise and night’s dark prince awakens. We fear not the wizard, nor the warrior, neither rogue, nor priest; our strength is timeless, drawn from darkness and we know no master save the hot lust of our unending hunger. We long for blood, your blood and no blade, nor spell, nor clever artifice, can keep us long from our prize. Feel our teeth at your throat, your life ebb from you, and know as darkness comes to claim you that the price of your folly is your everlasting soul.

Drasmyr effectively returns us to the days when vampires were evil (not sparkly) and something to be feared.

Truth:  I almost didn't choose to read this. I wasn't impressed by the blurb (really, it tells us nothing of the story) and didn't love the cover (and I've been known to buy--or not buy--a book for the cover alone).  But I gave it a try, skeptically started the first page and was completely hooked.  This author has mad writing skills!

The story is told from various points-of-view: a mage, a thief, a bounty hunter and, of course, from the vampire's himself.  He's evil to the core and has all the vampire traits of old:  he's a shape-shifting, coffin sleeping, blood-thirsty, immortal.  It's surprisingly refreshing to return to this type of vampire after reading so many romanticized versions of the creature.

The writing is deeply descriptive, interesting, complex. This isn't a fluffy read, but it's oh-so good.  The characters are so real and we become truly and completely invested in them.  Though the author is marketing this a YA dark fantasy, it's a book that will appeal to any and all fantasy lovers.  And, thankfully, it's just the beginning.  I checked: he's writing more!  I, for one, am thrilled.

Folks, if you're looking for a story that will grab you and hang on tight, for a story that enthralls and leaves you wanting more, then look no farther than Drasmyr.  It's really that good.



Monday, August 27, 2012

Dog Head Code by Maggi Andersen



Dog Head Code by Maggi Andersen
Publisher: Wild Child Publishing
Genre: Contemporary, Suspense/Mystery
Length: Short Story (66 pgs)
Age Recommendation: 12+
Rating: 4 stars
Reviewed by Poinsettia

After inheriting an old book containing a map from his Great Uncle Jake, Joe Jones travels to Dog Head Island, keen to find buried treasure. But in this isolated, inhospitable place, nothing is as it seems. Nothing, but the snakes that inhabited it. And Jake has a strong aversion to snakes!


Something more sinister than snakes is lurking on Dog Head Island.

When Joe inherits an old book from his great uncle, he has no idea that the adventure of a lifetime is waiting just around the corner. With the help of his mother, his friend Annie, and his teacher, Mr. Grant, Joe slowly begins to unravel the secrets of Dog Head Island. Will they uncover an ancient treasure or something else entirely?

Ms. Andersen put together a very interesting mystery. The code in the book was intriguing, and I liked the fact that Joe and Mr. Grant spent months trying to crack the code rather than somehow figuring it out instantly. Mr. Grant and Joe are smart, but they aren’t experts by any stretch of the word, so their slow but determined process was very believable. Once Joe and his friends arrive at Dog Head Island, the atmosphere definitely becomes creepy. The island is uninhabited, overgrown, and teaming with snakes. The remoteness of the island coupled with the strange things Joe sees and hears really add to the suspense of the story.

Joe is an easy character to like. He's a very mature and caring young man. He's thrilled at the prospect of cracking the code in the old book, but even more excited about the prospect of finding treasure. What is most touching about Joe’s desire to find a fortune is his concern for his mother. Joe and his mother have been on their own since his father died, and while they are doing okay, Joe wishes he could do more to help. Joe’s protective streak also comes out when he’s around Annie, a beautiful but lonely girl who is somewhat of an outcast at school. Joe’s friendship with Annie is sweet and definitely has the potential to develop into something romantic. Given their young age, I think their relationship moves at just the right speed. I can definitely see them as a couple when they are a little older.

While Joe demonstrates maturity beyond his fourteen years, he also has moments that prove he's still a young teenager. In his determination to discover the secrets on Dog Head Island, Joe throws caution to the wind and gets himself into a couple of scrapes that nearly cost him his life. I eagerly flipped through the pages wondering how someone so young could possibly get out of such a precarious situation. However, Joe proved to be a very brave young man with all the makings of a hero.

I do wish Joe would have spent more time on Dog Head Island. It takes months for Joe, his mother, Mr. Grant, and Annie to get to the island. Once there, everything happens so quickly that it seemed like the tale was over just as I was sinking my teeth into the meat of the mystery. I think there's so much more to explore concerning the code in the book and the secrets of Dog Head Island. I really wasn’t ready for the story to end.

I’m glad I had the opportunity to read Dog Head Code. It's a quick and fun book that can be enjoyed by anyone who loves a good suspense. Do Joe and his friends find riches on Dog Head Island? There’s only one way to find out. Pick up a copy of Dog Head Code.

Sunday, August 26, 2012

Win during our 5th Anniversary Party!


We're celebrating our 5th Anniversary with a huge party -- where you can win $100 Amazon GC, $50 Amazon GC, and hundreds of smaller prizes:  books, $5 Amazon GCs and more!

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Nate Rocks the Boat by Karen Pokras Toz



Nate Rocks the Boat by Karen Pokras Toz
Publisher: Grand Daisy Press
Genre: Action/Adventure, Contemporary
Length: Short Story (142 pages)
Age Recommendation: 8+
Rating: 4.5 stars
Reviewed by Honeysuckle

With fourth grade finally winding down, 10-year-old Nathan Rockledge is looking forward to a fun and relaxing summer at home with his friends. That is, until his mom decides he has to go to overnight camp with his annoying older sister. When his best friend Tommy decides to tag along, Nathan thinks maybe his summer won’t actually be so bad. After all, he does get to be away from his mom's awful cooking for an entire six weeks.

Amongst Color War competitions, a flaky counselor, and a bully named "No-Neck,” Nathan turns to his trusty sketchpad, transforming himself into Nate Rocks: 10-year-old extraordinaire. His speedboat ready for action, Nate saves the day time and again from the perils of floods, snakes, ghosts, and even the most wanted criminals.

Join Nathan, Tommy, Abby, and a whole new cast of characters as Nate Rocks once again proves nothing can hold him back in this second book of the Nate Rocks series.


There isn’t much that Nathan Rockledge, aka Nate Rocks, can’t do, as long as it’s on paper or in his imagination. Actually, Nathan is a pretty resourceful young man. Things may not always work out quite as spectacularly as they do in his daydreams but in a pinch Nate really does rock! But can he handle summer camp, No-Neck and worst of all, his older sister, Abby?

In the sequel to Nate Rocks the World, Nathan is taking on a new adventure that is both exciting and pretty darn scary for someone who isn’t particularly fond of being stuck in the woods or being forced to compete against his annoying sister. But from reading book one I knew that Nathan wasn’t a quitter and having his best friend, Tommy, along was going to make this whole ordeal a whole lot of fun to watch. Ms. Toz did not disappoint. I did kinda miss the verbal sparing Nathan had with Lisa from book one but there are plenty of new characters introduced at Camp Spring Ridge to fill in the void.

Readers who enjoy the narrative style of Judy Blume will appreciate the youthful voice that comes through in the dialogue. There aren’t just a whole lot of really good books out for middle grade boys that are written where they can relate to the worries and angst of 8 or 10 year old younger siblings. Something else I think young readers will appreciate is the descriptive details interwoven throughout the story. I had no trouble picturing the camp, the games or the final adventure.

Speaking of the final adventure, I couldn’t have asked for a better ending. Ms. Toz weaves in a “moral to the story” sequence of events that will make parents happy to let their kids read these books.

Nate Rocks the Boat is charming with quite a few laugh-out-loud moments, particularly when Nate drifts off into a daydream and wakes up to a mess. While fans of the Wimpy Kid and Dork Diary series will notice similarities in the character setup, Ms. Toz has penned a unique and clever tale that is sure to entertain young readers as well as the adults who like to follow what their kids read.



Monday, August 13, 2012

Journeys Through the Unknown: An Anthology of Supernatural Adventures by Heather Beck




Journeys Through the Unknown: An Anthology of Supernatural Adventures by Heather Beck
Publisher: Treasure Cove Books
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Action/Adventure, Contemporary, Suspense/Mystery
Length: Short Story (125 pages)
Age Recommendation: 10+
Rating: 4 Stars
Reviewed by Astibile

Gnome Genome

Trapped in a mysterious garden, Meghan must play games with tricky gnomes to regain her freedom.

A Weird Twist Of Fate

When Judith finds an ancestor’s diary in the attic, she makes a startling discovery about her family.

The Secret Oracle Of An Egyptian King

After Dr. Riley and Vaughan unearth a mummy’s tomb, they are plagued by a deadly curse.

Cold Territory

The Palace of Ice is beautiful and brimming with gems, but Dale’s learning the hard way that once you enter, you can never leave.

Kingdom Of Sugar

Clayton’s adventure in a sugar wonderland becomes a nightmare when the candy comes alive.


If Journeys Through the Unknown taught me one thing it is this: be cautious. Not everyone you meet is necessarily whom they appear to be at first glance.

In Gnome Genome an act of kindness leads Meghan into a world she never knew existed. The plot quickly thickens as she attempts to outsmart her gnome competitors so she can go home again. The challenges were creative and well thought out. The ending was predictable but still left me satisfied.

Sometimes it’s hard to know how to strike a balance between being proud of who you are and fitting in with a society that may not understand. A Weird Twist of Fate explores this tension as Judith discovers an old family secret. Judith’s character was quite intriguing but some continuity and logical errors distracted me from what was happening to her.

The Secret Oracle of an Egyptian King starts out with a jolt of adrenaline that foreshadows later events beautifully. The mystery Danny and Vaughn wrestle with has a fairly simple premise but it is well executed and snaps into place just as the narrative begins to require an additional conflict in order to keep the reader interested.

Could you resist instant wealth? How do you know whom to trust? When Dale discovers something too good to be true in Cold Territory he must decide whether to heed the warning of someone he’s just met. This was by far the strongest tale in the collection. It’s one of those rare stories that is equally enjoyable for adult and young adult readers.

After Clayton gorges on candy he mysteriously ends up in a world made of sugar. Kingdom of Sugar had a unique premise but the conversations between Clayton and his mother about not eating so much sugar felt forced. It would have been more compelling to start with Clayton’s discovery of this new world as the cute yet scary creatures he meets in it can easily stand on their own.

When it’s all said and done Journeys Through the Unknown is a solid collection of genuinely creepy tales that triggered as many questions for me as they answered.



Thursday, August 9, 2012

Ghost Crown by J. Gabriel Gates and Charlene Keel



Ghost Crown by J. Gabriel Gates and Charlene Keel
The Tracks, Book Two
Publisher: Health Communications, Inc.
Genre: Contemporary, Paranormal
Length: Full Length (441 pages)
Age Recommendation: 12+
Rating: 5 stars
Reviewed by Rose

A priceless mystical treasure, a dark secret order, and a vengeful fallen angel—forces collide as the battle for Middleburg continues . . .

For gang members Raphael and Ignacio, plans for the homecoming dance are almost as harrowing as their recent victory against the demonic forces that threaten their town. Despite their tentative alliance, a fight breaks out between the preppie Toppers and the goth Flatliners when Topper girl Aimee shows up at the dance with Raphael, the rival gang's leader. In the midst of an all-out rumble, the homecoming queen discovers a supernatural power that causes a potentially deadly catastrophe. Meanwhile, a charismatic half-angel, half-human arrives in Middleburg with plans to steal Aimee from Raphael.

To add to the bizarre circumstances surrounding the town, real-estate moguls begin buying up most of the Flats and evicting the tenants. These mysterious men seek a priceless treasure prophesied in ancient Chinese writings and will stop at nothing to find it. But Raphael and his friends vow to get to it first and use it to reclaim their homes.

As Raphael and the Flatliners and Zhai and the Toppers hone their supernatural abilities and search for the treasure, Aimee begins kung fu training, intent on using her new skills to locate and rescue her mother. When she discovers that the elusive treasure may be the key, the race to find it intensifies.
,br> But there are others who seek the treasure too, and they have the power to reduce all of Middleburg, and perhaps the world, to ashes. . . .
Gates and Keel do it again with the second book in The Tracks series. This pair of authors is quickly becoming one of my favorite duos with each book about the Flatliners and the Toppers.

Middleburg is in the middle (pardon the pun) of yet another battle--both physical and spiritual--and our favorite characters are back and along for the ride. They aren't static, however. The authors show how the events in Book One, Dark Territory, shape and change them--with the most profound change coming in Maggie. Kudos to the authors for making her so much more than she was in the first book.

This series keeps getting better...and I'm looking forward to the spring for the final installment in The Tracks.


Wednesday, August 8, 2012

Reluctance by Cindy C. Bennett



Reluctance by Cindy C. Bennett
Publisher: Noble Romance Publishing
Genre: Contemporary, Paranormal
Length: Short Story (54 pgs)
Age Recommendation: 14+
Rating: 3.5 stars
Reviewed by Poinsettia

Twenty-year-old Dahlia hates the life that she is forced to lead. But the time is quickly coming when she must make a decision that will shape the rest of her life. She's set her sights on Jace. He is someone her family will approve of, someone that will finally gain her acceptance among her people. Then Cam comes into her life, making her question what she assumed was her inevitable destiny, giving her hope that she might be able to lead the normal existence that she longs for. But fate has its own plan for Dahlia. Now she has to find courage she didn’t know she possessed to fight for her own future.


There is much more to Dahlia than meets the eye.

Dahlia is more than a little awkward. She’s clumsy, unpopular, and hopelessly out of touch with the current trends. She doesn’t really fit in anywhere, but even worse is the fact that she feels like an outsider in her own family. Her life seems very lonely, but I admire the fact that, for the most part, she does her own thing and lives by her own set of principles.

Dahlia and her family definitely aren’t human, but I won’t spoil the story by revealing what sort of paranormal creatures they are. Ms. Bennett has an interesting take on this particular branch of the supernatural tree, but when I finished reading, I was left wanting to know more about the history of these creatures as Ms. Bennett envisions them. Ms. Bennett included just enough detail to keep the plot and characters clear, but I felt that the history of these beings could have been fleshed out a bit more.

Dahlia is in a difficult situation. On one hand, she longs to be accepted by her family and her kind. On the other hand, she actually hates her kind and their way of life. When Dahlia decides to pursue Jace, it is clear that she cannot stand him. She only wants to be with Jace to fit with her family and, in turn, the supernatural community she belongs to. However, as I said, she dislikes her kind, so I found it hard to believe she’d be willing to bind herself for life to someone she can barely tolerate in order to fit in with a group of beings she abhors. This doesn’t seem like much of a life.

The one bright spot in Dahlia’s life is Cam, a coworker at the hospital where she works. Dahlia’s feelings for Cam catch her completely off guard, but their romance is definitely sweet. I love the way Dahlia comes out of her shell when she’s with Cam. Something just clicks when they are together. They are both very comfortable around each other and I enjoyed all the flirty banter between them. It was truly a pleasure watching their romance bloom. However, Dahlia’s determination to fit in with her kind just might cost her the love of a lifetime.

The secondary characters aren’t as developed as I would have liked, but they serve their purpose in moving the plot along. I thought Dahlia’s father acted a bit oddly toward the end of the story. When Dahlia talks about her family, she paints a picture of a family that doesn’t seem to care about her or each other. However, her father seems to show a different side toward the end. Why did he wait to show this side of himself if he truly cared about his daughter? I couldn’t help but wonder if it was going to be a case of too little, too late.

Reluctance is a fun, fast paced romance that can be read in one sitting. Dahlia is a sweet, quirky heroine and her romance with Cam is compelling. I must say again how much I enjoyed watching them fall in love. If you want to know Dahlias secret and how Cam will handle it, there’s only one way to find out. Pick up a copy of Reluctance today.



Tuesday, August 7, 2012

Tools of Prophecy by Michael A. Rothman




Tools of Prophecy by Michael A. Rothman
Publisher: M and S Publishing
Genre: Fantasy
Length: Full (369 pgs)
Age Recommendation: 8+
Rated: 3.5 stars
Review by Poppy


The TOOLS OF PROPHECY is the second volume in an epic saga which describes a prophecy that has placed the Riverton brothers in the lead roles of a struggle to save their world from being overrun by unspeakable horrors. This destiny requires that they face off with the demons that nearly destroyed their world over five centuries ago.

In the first book, the population of wizards had been practically eradicated by the former tyrant. The Rivertons are now charged with creating an Academy of Magic, recruiting qualified students, and furthering their own training with secrets that have long been held by the reclusive elves.

Despite their youth, a mysterious spirit has engaged them in an epic struggle to gain mastery of their newfound skills, help raise and train two armies, and stay alive long enough for their final showdown with destiny.

The only things that stand in their way are the assassins hired to destroy them and the Demon Lord’s minion who holds a personal grudge and intends to witness the young boys’ deaths.

I so enjoyed the first book in this series that I couldn't wait to get my hands on the next.  Tools of Prophecy is a solid fantasy novel for kids.  It's definitely the second book in a series, and I'm not certain how well it would stand alone, but that's okay: Heirs of Prophecy is a great book, so read it first!

This book continues the battle between good and evil, introducing an even greater good, the antithesis to Sammael.  It also brings in other evil entities, and begins to unite the various factions in the land who are fighting for good.

It's this coming together that slowed this book down a bit.  The first half is mostly the various folks finding their place. The establishment of the new school, training, and so on.  While certainly necessary, as much of this learning is integral to the plot later on, it did make the story drag a bit.

Still, things certainly pick up again in the second half, as threats become real, battles rage, evil attacks good and main characters may (or may not) survive.  The author has a firm grasp on his characters, and they don't act without motivation.  Some feel a little smug to me (Sloane, for instance ... there were times I wanted to sit her in a corner), but I need to remember that these are kids we're dealing with, ones who don't have the benefit of time and experience to temper their behavior. They're endowed with these amazing gifts and powers, it's only natural they'd get a bit smug or arrogant at times.  One thing I do enjoy with these books is that the parents are present, and they act like parents should.

The book has everything a reader wants: action, romance, excitement.  And the ending!  Exciting, interesting and "can't-catch-your-breath" exhausting. Then, just when you think it's all clear, the author tosses in a cliffhanger again and leaves me wanting more.  I am looking forward to the next book in the series and I highly recommend it to kids of all ages.





Monday, August 6, 2012

Revived by Cat Patrick



Revived by Cat Patrick
Publisher: Hachette
Genre: Contemporary, Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Suspense/Mystery
Length: Full Length (336 pages)
Age Recommendation: 14+
Rating: 5 Stars
Reviewed by Sunflower

As a little girl, Daisy Appleby was killed in a school bus crash. Moments after the accident, she was brought back to life.

A secret government agency has developed a drug called Revive that can bring people back from the dead, and Daisy Appleby, a test subject, has been Revived five times in fifteen years. Daisy takes extraordinary risks, knowing that she can beat death, but each new death also means a new name, a new city, and a new life. When she meets Matt McKean, Daisy begins to question the moral implications of Revive, and as she discovers the agency's true goals, she realizes she's at the center of something much larger — and more sinister — than she ever imagined.


Thanks to a top secret program, some people don't just have one life to live anymore....It's the aid of Revive, an organization that has helped casualties come back; but being revived comes with a price..

Daisy, fifteen, has died numerous times. She's accident prone, and can't seem to stay out of death's grip. Of course, Revive keeps her coming back, but in that instance, it means her life in the town she lives in is over. Time to pack up and move on. Never bother getting used to people, or getting to know then, for one wrong move can lead to another town.

This time it's Nebraska. Things are different here. She begins making friends. Daisy gets a glimpse of what a teenager's normal life could be. She befriends Audrey, and crushes on Audrey's brother, Matt. For once, Daisy feels at home. She allows herself to get attached.

From the outside, it would seem as if Daisy is a normal teenager with teenage issues, but Revived has stripped any sense of normalcy. We get glimpses of life in Daisy's eyes, and the intriguing premise of this book panned out into a thought provoking story. I couldn't put it down! The concept of this story grabbed a hold of my attention and hogged it like a child does a favorite toy! Revived is filled with a mix of science fiction, first time teenage love, and facing the real tragedy of death. The characters are moving, and the plot's twists and turns create a riveting read. The author is surely one to watch in the young adult sci/fi world.

This book is suitable for both young adults and adults just the same. If I may, I recommend this enchanting book to readers! Don't miss Revived!





Saturday, August 4, 2012

July Book of the Month Poll Winner: Rise fromDarkness by Ciara Knight



Rise From Darkness by Ciara Knight
Battle for Souls Series
Publisher: Turquoise Morning Press
Genre: Action/Adventure, Contemporary, Paranormal
Length: Full Length (182 pgs)
Age Recommendation: 16+
Rating: 5 stars
Reviewed by Peppermint


Alexander Lorre gives new meaning to the term “tormented teen.” He’s a newly fallen angel, which means he has the self-control of a three-year-old, the hormones of a teenager and the strength of an angel. When he rescues Gaby Moore from drowning, the chemistry between them is undeniable. With a local demon threatening Gaby’s life, he struggles to find a balance between remaining close enough to protect her but distant enough to control his desires.

As danger draws closer, Gaby uncovers shattering secrets that will lead to an ultimate choice. Will she fight alongside her father, an earthbound hunter killing fallen angels and demons, give into the demon blood coursing through her veins and join the demon world, or save the man she loves from both? The first two choices damn her, but the last one could destroy them all.


Read the full review here!

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Trajectories by Tess Grant



Trajectories by Tess Grant
The Kitty Irish Trilogy, Book One
Publisher: Turquoise Morning Press
Genre: Contemporary, Paranormal
Length: Full Length (157 pgs)
Age Recommendation: 14+
Rating: 4.5 stars
Reviewed by Poinsettia

Kitty Irish has heard all the rumors swirling around Daniel Phinney. Most of them involve a gun, a flask, and a temper. One chance encounter with the WWII veteran over a grisly find in the woods pulls the cover off the dark secrets of their small town, and Kitty is drawn into an unlikely partnership.

Armed with an antique rifle and a handful of homemade silver bullets, the two form an efficient team. Unfortunately, their game is werewolf hunting, and disaster is only a bite away.


With her father in Iraq, Kitty finds herself fighting a very different kind of war in the woods at home.

Kitty is one of the most relatable young adult heroines I’ve had the pleasure of knowing. Her battle to balance friends and family against the new knowledge of werewolves is completely believable. One of the things I like most about Kitty is that she like doesn’t automatically accept things at face value. When Kitty is faced with the idea that werewolves not only exist, but hunt in the woods right behind her house, she takes some initiative and goes out looking for the information she needs to confirm her suspicions and to double check the information Phinney gives her.

As if being a teenage werewolf hunter weren’t enough, Kitty is also trying to hold her family together while her father is in Iraq. With her mother at work all the time, she finds herself completely in charge of the cooking, cleaning, and care of her younger brother, Sam. When her mother is home, Kitty frequently fights with her, which only makes the situation worse. She's a strong young woman, but she’s not sure if she can shoulder all the responsibilities that have been thrust on her. Kitty knows that her family needs her and that hunting werewolves is the right thing to do, but she still wants to be able to have fun and just be a kid sometimes. I was pulled into Kitty’s internal struggle so deeply, that I felt as if I’d known her for years when I finished reading the story.

Phinney is certainly an interesting character as well. After their chance meeting in the woods, Phinney becomes a mentor and father figure for Kitty. He rarely expresses his emotions, but when he lets his guard down, I was able to glimpse a very warm hearted man who comes to care for Kitty as if she were his daughter. Phinney is a very down to earth, simple man and yet there are still some secrets surrounding him. He refuses to reveal to Kitty the names of the people who help him spot werewolves, and I’m not completely sure why he would hold that information back. I also think there is more to his past experiences with werewolves than he lets on.

I do wish some of the other secondary characters, such as Jenna and Joe, had been a bit more rounded. Kitty and Jenna have supposedly been best friends since they were very young, but I didn’t see much evidence of that as I read. Right from the start Jenna, struck me as a bit of a snob with very little sense of humor. She also has a bad habit of telling Kitty to do things rather than asking if she wants to do them. That's all I really know about Jenna, and I have serious doubts about the future of their friendship.

Joe has also been friends with Kitty since childhood, but when the book ended, I didn’t really know much about him either. I do know he's loyal and there for Kitty when she needs him even though she has recently neglected their friendship. It did seem as though Kitty was beginning to have romantic feelings for Joe, and I suspect that Joe might feel the same way. I hope they spend more time together in the next book of the series.

I can’t say much about the ending of the story without spoiling it. However, I will say that it's tragic and very open ended. I was completely floored when I finished reading, and I had tears streaming down my face. I will absolutely be reading the next book in the series so that I can find out what happens to Kitty next.

Reading Trajectories was certainly an emotional experience. Kitty easily found her way into my heart and I was sad to leave her behind when the tale ended. Anyone looking for a chilling paranormal with a wonderfully developed heroine should definitely give Trajectories a try.